Driving with a Suspended License Defense Lawyers in Florida
Prepared to Defend You Every Step of the Way
Driving with a suspended license is one of the most common traffic charges prosecuted in Florida. Suspended licenses can occur for a variety of different reasons, ranging from accrued points to a DUI to allowing insurance to lapse.
Driving with a suspended license can be either a criminal or non-criminal offense, depending on the mitigating circumstances. If you deliberately drive without a license, prosecutors may charge you with a criminal offense. Knowing how you were charged is essential in knowing how to handle your charges. Regardless of the exact nature of the charge, it is crucial that you obtain legal counsel immediately.
If you are charged with driving with a suspended license, you owe it to yourself to find an attorney who thoroughly understands the complexities of Florida’s legal system. In this stressful situation, you need a lawyer who will fight for you. Choose The Berman Law Group in your time of need. We have five convenient offices in Boca Raton, Deerfield Beach, Orlando, Stuart, and Gainesville.
For an honest and thorough evaluation of your case, call us at (800) 883-5206 or contact us online.
Reasons for License Suspension
There are many reasons why the Florida DMV may suspend a driver’s license.
These reasons may include (but are not limited to):
- Arrest or conviction of DUI
- Refusing a breathalyzer test
- Accrual of points on driver’s license
- Becoming classified as a habitual traffic offender (HTO)
- Racing on highways
- Failure to appear in court or failure to pay court fees, judgments, or fines
- Delinquency on child support payments
- Drug convictions
Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License
If caught intentionally driving with a suspended license for the first time, you could receive a fine of up to $500 and up to 60 days in jail. A second offense of knowingly driving with a suspended license could carry a sentence of up to one year in jail and a hefty fine. A third offense may be charged as a felony, resulting in up to five years in prison and a fine of $5000.
Three convictions within a five-year period may result in being labeled a “habitual traffic offender” by the DMV, meaning you receive a five-year revocation of your driving rights.
It is important to note that the prosecutor must prove that the driver knowingly drove with a suspended license. Generally, this is accomplished with documentation, including correspondence and records from the DMV.
Driving with a suspended license in Florida is a serious crime that could land you behind bars. If you are charged with driving with a suspended license, it is imperative that you obtain legal counsel immediately after you are charged. Make sure you get an attorney who is willing to fight for your rights.
Call The Berman Law Group right now at (800) 883-5206 for your free consultation.
In the end, the Berman Law Group fought to get me the settlement that I deserved! I highly recommend The Berman Law Group.- Brian C.
Everything was done to a "T" and swiftly. I couldn't be more pleased. Thank you Berman Law Group!- Eric L.
He will make emergency runs to make sure you are ok. Call Zach if you need an honest attorney!- Jon M.
We are committed to making ourselves available to our clients 24/7 - by phone, email & text message.
Multi-Million Dollar Advocates Forum
We are proud to be among the 1% of U.S. lawyers who are members of this distinguished organization.
Compassionate Legal Solutions
We provide personalized legal solutions & treat all of our clients like friends & family, rather than like case numbers.
Committed to the Community
We are driven to give back to our community & are avid supporters of many charitable organizations.
Strong Record of Success
We have won an extensive number of verdicts and settlements totalling over $300 million in recoveries for our clients.
We offer free consultations & will not charge a fee unless we recover compensation for you.