If you commit a felony crime in the state of Florida, you can expect to face serious consequences, such as extensive jail time, life in prison, and in some felony cases, the death penalty.
Felonies in Florida are classified as capital, life, first-degree, second-degree and third-degree felonies. Under Florida Statutes 775.082 and 775.083, a capital felony – such as a first-degree murder – is by far the most serious crime an individual can commit in Florida and makes one eligible to receive the death penalty.
Being convicted of a felony can flip your life around for the worst. If you are facing a felony conviction in Florida, you should seek legal help immediately. Don’t wait any longer, make sure to call The Berman Law Group’s experienced Florida criminal defense attorneys today at 800-375-5555.
Different Types of Felony Offenses
If you commit a felony offense in the state of Florida, it will be ranked on a system created by the Florida State Legislature. It is given a numerical ranking, so the higher the ranking, the more points you have. If you have a score of more than 44 points, you will receive mandatory jail time. If you receive a score lower than 44 points a judge does not need to send you to jail, but he or she still has jurisdiction to do so. Some examples of felony offenses in the state of Florida are among the following:
- Sex crimes, such as rape
- Drug trafficking
- Grand theft
- Drug possession (except marijuana)
- Felony battery
- Aggravated assault
- Aggravated battery
- Child abuse
- Carrying a concealed weapon
- Resisting an officer with violence
Felony Offense Punishments
A conviction for a capital offense is death. For a life felony, you can end up with life in prison on top of a hefty fine, which can be as high as $15,000. A first-degree felony in the state of Florida could put you in Florida state prison for up to 30 years, and you may have to pay a fine of up to $10,000. Receiving a second-degree felony can put you in Florida prison for up to 15 years, on top of paying up to $10,000 in fines. Lastly, a third-degree felony could land you up to five years in state prison, and fines of at least $5,000.
You are generally charged with a third-degree felony if you are not given a formal punishment or degree for your felony. Due to Florida’s “Three Strikes Law,” if you commit two felonies and then a third, you could be given extensive jail time.
Felony Defense Attorney
Having a felony conviction on your record is extremely inconvenient, and the conviction itself can have severe consequences. If you are convicted with a felony in the state of Florida, it is critical that you seek a determined and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney to be on your side. He or she will be able to assist you in understanding your legal rights and various options to receive the best outcome for you and your case. Reach out to The Berman Law Group’s experienced Florida criminal defense attorneys today at 800-375-5555.