In 2016, Florida workers received $1,338,519,683 in total benefits from workers’ compensation claims. That number is more than one billion dollars. If you have been hurt at work, The Berman Law Group can help. When you need Boca Raton workers’ compensation lawyers, let us assist you.
Check out our guide for what you need to know about workers’ compensation in Florida.
What to Do after an Accident
When it comes to workers’ compensation claims, the more documentation you have, the better. The first thing you should do after an accident in the workplace is seek medical attention. In certain cases, it may be wise to go to the hospital or get an ambulance. Whatever the case may be, it is a good idea to get reports of whatever medical attention you receive.
Keep in mind that certain symptoms may not appear until a few hours, days, or weeks later. Every single time you see the doctor, you should acquire as much documentation as you can. This will help prove your case.
According to Florida law, you have 30 days to tell your supervisor that you have been injured. If you file after this time frame, you will not be eligible to pursue benefits. It is a good idea to both go to a doctor and tell your workplace as soon as possible.
It does not matter if the accident was caused by you, or if the accident was the fault of someone else. You may be eligible for workers’ compensation no matter who is to blame. The employer is required to make sure that their workplace is safe.
Florida law guarantees that all places of work with at least four employees carry insurance for full time employees. This is important to keep in mind. You will be negotiating with the insurance company, and not the employer directly.
In Florida, workers’ compensation is limited to $886 per week for 2017, and $917 per week for 2018. Depending on your injury, you may be eligible for temporary total disability, temporary partial disability, or impairment benefits. All of these offer different levels of compensation, and depend on the nature of the accident.
Your benefits last as long as your disability lasts. When your disability lasts fewer than 22 days, your compensation starts on day 8. If your disability harms you for a longer period, your benefits start on day 1. This means that you might have a right to back payment. Temporary partial disability and temporary total disability last for up to 104 weeks.
Employers must compensate you for a few different things. Psychological damage, physical injury, and your reduced ability to work may all be covered. It is a great idea to consult with an expert on the subject.
There are a few additional factors. If the person injured was an illegally-employed minor, the child gets double compensation. The workers’ compensation insurance company selects the doctor who will be treating you. Florida does not make your employer keep your job available to you after you have recovered.
Hiring a Lawyer
If you have been injured at work, it is recommended that you hire a lawyer. Many workers’ compensation claims are denied, and only a lawyer has the insight necessary to help make your case successful.
Many people do not understand the legal steps that they should take. The legal process can be confusing, and the insurance company will not be on your side. They will try to pay you the smallest amount possible, if they pay anything at all. This would be after you have already been hurt at work and when you need the money the most.
The Berman Law Group can help. Our expert team of lawyers have the experience and resources you need to prove your case. When you need aggressive, active, and agile attorneys, call The Berman Law Group today.